Rico Abreu (24) battles A.J. Bruns at Jacksonville (Ill.) Speedway. (Mark Funderburk photo)

By SPEED SPORT Staff – July 29, 2017

JACKSONVILLE, Ill. — After two rainouts to open Illinois Speedweek, Rico Abreu won Friday night’s feature at Jacksonville Speedway.

Abreu started outside the front row on the quarter-mile dirt track and held off Zach Daum to claim victory in the event sanctioned by the Midwest Open Wheel Ass’n.

Daum finished second, with Brad Loyet, Justin Peck, A.J. Bruns and Jim Moughan rounding out the top five.

The finish:

Rico Abreu, Zach Daum, Brad Loyet, Justin Peck, A.J. Bruns, Jim Moughan, Joey Moughan, Kody Kinser, Aaron Andruskevitch, Jacob Patton, Mike Terry Jr., Terry Babb, Jeremy Standridge, Logan Faucon, Cory Bruns, Ryan Bunton, Dustin Adam, Jake Blackhurst, J.C. Bland, Bret Tripplett, Kris Spitz, Jimmy Hurley, Robbie Standridge, Paul Nienhiser.